About: Douglas Miguel Carrer and experience

About me

I was born in Uberaba, in the state of Minas Gerais, Brazil. I grew up on a farm, surrounded by lots of nature, and there I lived until the age of seven. I come from a simple family and I’ve always had an ease with logic and numbers. When I was fourteen, already living in Uberaba (a larger city), I found out that internet pages were formed by “a bunch of codes and instructions” and said to myself: "I want to learn how to do that!”. Since then I’ve fallen in love with coding and never stopped to learn about internet and web development.

At sixteen I had my own startup (2003), a website of bovine semen sale for artificial insemination: Portal do Sêmen. I worked on this project for two years and it was a great experience. When I turned twenty I decided to leave my hometown (in 2007) and venture in São Paulo (the biggest city in Brazil), in search of a new career and learning opportunities. I went to work in a very traditional company, the Casper Libero Foundation.

Between 2007 and 2015 I lived for a year in another Brazilian city, Joinville, SC (2010 to 2011) - always looking for professional growth and challenges. In 2011, I returned to São Paulo and met my wife.

I was fortunate to work for major national and international brands, on different areas, allowing optimal learning. In my opinion this is the coolest thing about working with web development: I am always doing something new, always being allowed to do something better than before.

I love to watch series, to read, to listen to vinyl records and music in general, to take walks with my wife, go to cafes, museums, etc. Whenever I'm interested in a new technology I spend hours having fun in development.

Today I am 29 years old and I feel very fulfilled professionally, but at the same time I know I have many things to learn, and feel a strong desire to always learn and become better every day. My next goal is to live abroad, so I have been pursuing this opportunity I preparing for it.